OliviaMorrell

$ 35 per hour

Olivia Morrell

Massachusetts, Usa 11:49 AM(GMT-04:00)

Certified English Tutor- All Ages

Experience: 4 Year 45 Min Class Trial Class:Free

Teaches:

Middle School Tutors TOEFL English

About Me

I can help you learn English in a specific content area and/or pace that you want! I have ample experience working with a variety of age ranges. I have taught students as young as 5 years old, all the way to adult education. Through my experience teaching adults, we focused on business and medical terminology. My full time ESL role focuses on gearing students towards becoming multilingual. My educational background runs deep into linguistics and language learning, and I run by the mantra that "You are always a learner". So, I can promise you that I will always be learning besides you. I love to laugh and have a positive personality! We won't just be learning, we'll be having fun, too!

Skills

ACADEMIC WRITING
Pro
CRITICAL THINKING
Pro
EDITING
Pro
WORK ETHIC
Pro
PROGRESS MONITORING
Pro

Education

  • MA - TESOL
    Fairfield College, United states
    Graduated 2019
  • BA - English
    Springfield College, United states
    Graduated 2017

Certifications

  • Reading MTEL Massachusetts Board of Education 2019
  • Writing MTEL Massachusetts Board of Education 2019
  • TESOL Massachusetts Board of Education 2019
  • TESOL Connecticut Board of Education 2019

Describe your teaching and tutoring experience?

My teaching career began as a substitute teacher in an ESL class (English as a second language). I then went on to teach abroad in Madrid, Spain. I loved it so much that I came home and got my Master's in TESOL. I began my full time position teaching ESL to grades 8-12 in 2019. Since then, I have worked in summer camps for grades 1-5 ESL students and tutored high school ESL students online. 

Tell us about yourself. What are your interests outside of school? What else would students enjoy knowing about you?

Fun fact- I did gymnastics for my college team! Although doing a sport in college is extremely challenging, I met some of my best friends doing it and learned so much about myself. 

Now, in my free time, I love to go on walks with my dog, Badger, and my fiance. I get married in December- Yay! 

In the summers you can find me at the beach most afternoons. I think I am part mermaid because I love the beach and ocean so much!  

What makes you an awesome Tutor? Describe any experience, qualifications or strategies here?

What makes me a great tutor is that I make learning fun. I believe that if you are not enjoying your learning, you will not learn! I make sure to incorporate all four domains into each lesson; reading, writing, speaking, and listening. 

  • Tutor review not available!!